Focus

I told myself I wasn’t going to pay much attention to Bush’s farewell speech, but when he said this, I just can’t let it pass:

“As the years passed most Americans were able to return to life much as it had been before 9/11. But I never did. Every morning, I received a briefing on the threats to our nation. And I vowed to do everything in my power to keep us safe.”

If that were the case why did he lose focus on the obvious location of the the threat—the Afghan/Pakistan border region?   Instead he launched an unrelated war in Iraq.  It seems to me that Bush’s life returned to normal very shortly after 9/11.  He had wanted to overthrow Saddam long before 9/11 and, after launching an attack on Afghanistan in the wake of 9/11, he quickly returned to business as usual.

1 Comment

Filed under foreign policy

One response to “Focus

  1. dk

    For me, the most appalling part was that he was “disappointed” there were no weapons of mass destruction in Iraq. Imagine the kind of mind that hopes for such things!

Leave a Reply

